The question that keeps you stuck

Sometimes its easy to let our minds wander off into the past (and the future) as we dwell upon the “what if’s” of our lives. I’ll be the first to admit that I am definitely a “what if” gal, though I’m not entirely sure what that says about my mind-set and my character. I like to think that when any person finds themselves in a place where they are unsure or confused, they would start to consider various scenarios employing the “what if’s” of life, though maybe thats just me?

What if?

When put together, these two words are often doused in negativity. “What if it doesn’t work? What if I fail?” If you seek out the negative in something before you decide to go through with it, then you’re always going to place yourself in the mindset of failure. As a firm believer and avid user of the “what if” scenario builder, I think its really the way in which you use the question that will influence both your answer and outcome.

There is no use in getting wrapped up in the past. There is a difference between future “what if’s” and those that come from remembering the past and simply pondering would-be outcomes. From personal experience, reflecting on past events with this “what if” mentality has never ended well. You can’t change the past, so move on.

The type of “what if’s” I’m talking about are the kind that allow you to dream and to imagine. Asking “what if” in a positive context could even be used as a tool to motivate and inspire you to work towards whatever outcomes you want.

So is “what if” really the question that keeps you stuck? Yes and no. I’m guilty of asking myself this question (more often than not) in a fairly negative light, and that often keeps me stuck. I’m trying very hard to change this.

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”
Theodore Roosevelt

Honestly, life is too short. Focus your energy and thoughts on the here and now because we only have the ability to change the present, not the past. Letting negative “what if’s” consume you will only keep you stuck. Positive thoughts bring positive outcomes, and while being ‘Positive Polly’ 365 days out of the year is humanly impossible, and a positive attitude can’t fix everything life is only as good as your mindset. 

 

Leave a comment